How to delete your Clubhouse account

0
81

When it comes to stationary clubhouses, getting started is usually the challenge. Clubhouse, the lively audio-focused social media app, seems to have turned that logic on its head.

Unlike Twitter or Facebook, Clubhouse does not offer users an immediate option to delete their accounts. Instead of an option in the app itself or through the company’s website, Clubhouse’s privacy policy states that users must send the company a request for deletion via email.

“Please log into your account or contact us (at support@alphaexplorationco.com) if you need to change or correct your personal information or if you want to delete your account,” it says.

It is unclear how long it will take Clubhouse to process account deletion requests.

As opposed to simply deleting an app from your phone, by deleting an account and all of its associated data, you can ensure that your personal information isn’t stored on a company’s servers long after you leave. This can be of particular interest to Clubhouse users as the app needs access to your entire contact list in order to send out invitations (this is the only way to get an account at the time of this writing).

As Facebook has shown time and time again, this specific set of data is particularly insightful, and Clubhouse is now being asked appropriate questions about user privacy.

A person’s phone contact list reveals all kinds of potentially sensitive personal information, such as: B. Past and present therapists, medical practices, rehab facilities, places of worship and drug dealers.

Eva Galperin, director of cybersecurity for the Electronic Frontier Foundation, raised similar concerns Thursday.

“The contact list on my phone is not a list of my friends,” she wrote. “There are people on this list who I never want to hear from and whom I prefer not to inform about my activities.”

The contact list on my phone is not a list of my friends. There are people on this list who I never want to hear from and whom I prefer not to share about my activities. I will never want to send an invitation to my contact list.

– Eva (@evacide) February 11, 2021

We sent a request to Clubhouse to delete an account but did not receive an immediate response.

However, if you live in California, you might be lucky. Thanks to the California Consumer Protection Act (CCPA), Golden State residents are given special mention in the app’s privacy policy. In particular, it details how Californians “have the right” to know what information Clubhouse has collected about them and to request that it be deleted. Similar to a request to delete an account, you need to send an email to support@alphaexplorationco.com.

In the past few days in particular, the app’s privacy policy and terms of use briefly disappeared from both its website and the app itself. Instead of finding a detailed explanation of how the company records room audio (what it does), every interested user who visited on Thursday clicked on “Privacy Policy” in the app settings, redirected to a half-empty welcome page.

“Hey, we’re still opening up, but anyone can join an invitation from an existing user!” Read the page that once contained the privacy policy.

Not good

Image: screenshot / clubhouse

The privacy policy and terms of use will be republished on the website with no apparent changes.

SEE ALSO: Here’s what you need to know about Clubhouse, the invite-only social app

We reached out to Clubhouse to find out why the app’s privacy policy and terms of use temporarily disappeared, but only received an automated email.

Of course, this does not create trust. And maybe it should serve as a reminder that not all clubs are worth joining.

Source link